Anime Watching Log, Week 17

Natsume Yuujinchou San 05-13

You’d think after three seasons I would have a clearer opinion about this series. Nope. I like Natsume as narrator — I find his voice very soothing. At the same breath, I feel bad for him, getting chased and beaten up by the youkai all the time, needing a fat cat or one of his classmates/boyfriends to be his savior. Does Natsume’s ambivalence toward his relationship with the youkai correspond to my ambivalence toward this anime? He wants to help the youkai and be their bff, but it’s that same behavior which makes him look like such a weirdo to the rest of humanity. Though, at least this season he’s seen hanging out with his human friends more often. Maybe it’s easier in high school to be a little quirky or weird, which is why his muggle classmates don’t ostracize him as much when he was younger (whereas  little kids are painfully honest and harsh).

I do love it when Nyanko-sensei acts super protective of Natsume. I have a listicle idea for the “top 5 familiars in anime” blah blah, and Nyanko-sensei’s definitely one of the five. He’s such a greedy old man/cat pig, but then he sits by Natsume and changes the towel on his forehead. All my cat does is meow like a crazy thing at 6 am in the morning and sit on my right wrist when I’m trying to write a blog post.

Toaru Kagaku no Railgun 3-4 / Toaru Majutsu no Index 1

I can’t very well watch Railgun S2 without watching the first season, right? And while I’m here, I might as well start Index.

To even my surprise, I’m enjoying Railgun. A LOT. I find the music and the animation style incredibly appealing. Misaka is a fun character to watch (though more amusing in Railgun than Index, but you knew that) and Kuroko, who originally irritated me in the first couple of episodes, has grown on me. For Index, maybe I’ll need a few more episodes to figure it out.

Little Witch Academia

Really cute, if somewhat predictable story. It’s weird that they took the term “witch” literally, with the school being an all-girls academy and all. Is there a corresponding warlock academy then? I’d like to think this project came about as an offshoot from Madoka mania. I mean, that would be an awesome twist: little girl witches training in a school to be EVIL witches (or sorceresses/evil stepmothers) mwahaha. Certainly Susy the potions master has it in her to be dark and gothy.

 Fate/Zero 01-05

I can’t write about this yet, because I can’t believe it took me this long to get around to watching it. All I can say for now is that the boyfriend looked at me strange when I started making squee-y noises when Lancer showed up.

2 thoughts on “Anime Watching Log, Week 17

  1. I like to compare Natsume Yuujinchou to Aria. It’s very soothing show that loves focusing on world building and character interaction without much forward momentum to its actual narrative. I liked it cause it was a nice change of pace from a lot of other stuff I watch. I wrote a review for Index S1… (shudder) nothing compared to railgun.

  2. Natsume Yuujinchou is such a relaxing show to watch and it is pretty episodic (my personal favorite episodes were ones with flashbacks so we could see how much Natsume has changed/grown up) without too much of a plot forward, although there is a set end goal (freeing all the spirits from the book of friends) so that’s always nice. But compared to Mushishi (a very chill anime, beautifully animated in that quiet, serene, kind of way), I felt that Natsume was stronger story, simply because there was some carry over with characters and reappearances by a few youkai from the earlier series. But the overall feeling I get from watching Natsume and Mushishi is the same–not too much thinking involved, and having a smile on my face afterwards. If you haven’t seen Mushishi, I would recommend it–but it is kind of slow at times, because not much happens, haha.

    And you have a wonderful blog–your writing is excellent!

    And I also wish my cat would be more like Nyanko-sensei. 🙂

Comments are closed.