Tamura MMF: Link Round-Up (1)

Anna N. posted a round-up of her reviews of Chicago and volumes 1-12 of Basara. The cello technique critique is among the reasons why I adore manga bloggers and their (our?) attention to detail.

Personally, I have to say thank you to the person who first drew my attention to Basara, Shaenon K. Garrity.  Way back in 2006, when everyone was on Livejournal, she wrote this piece featuring Basara as part of her Overlooked Manga Festival; several years later she would write this piece for Jason Thompson’s House of 1000 Manga column on ANN. When I read the livejournal post, I remember being impressed that somebody who actually worked on the book actually coming out and professing their love for the manga that they’re working on. Back then, that was such a novel idea; there wasn’t as much access to the manga publishers or to the various editorial departments, so Shaenon writing and openly fangirling about Basara became the nudge for me to order the books and fall in love with them myself.

That’s why I never underestimate the power of blogging and social media. Without livejournal, without Shaenon, I would have never known about this amazing manga and its equally incredible creator…and my life would’ve been so much sadder now.

