To-be Read Queue: Friday the 13th edition

I don’t know how book bloggers or booktubers (book reviewers on Youtube) do it. I’m just dipping my toes into this world and I feel just as overwhelmed as when I was trying to be an episodic anime blogger. There’s just too many good things to read!

Anyway, even though I’ve only scratched off a couple of my tbr books from this list, I’ve since added a few more. Because why not be aspirational?

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
Lots of hype from my friends about this title; I skimmed through the first opening pages and the atmosphere is appropriately creepy, which I do enjoy. I don’t know how I feel about 2nd person narration though.

The Iron King by Julie Kagawa
I’ve always seen this book on the public library shelves, and the covers are all beautiful that it seems almost a sin for me to ignore this series any further. Except, since it is the first book in a series, it means I’ll have to start YET another new one. Is it worth the trouble?

Beastly by Alex Flinn
Because it seems wrong to read Bewitching without starting this one first.

A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray
I’ve seen Libba Bray in a reading once, and she was so great and bubbly and gorgeous. At the time, she was promoting Beauty Queens, which I also want to read, but I know she has a lot of fans of the Gemma Doyle series. Again, it’s slightly creepy and mysterious, so it’s practically a perfect read for the upcoming autumn. And that cover, seriously, so pretty!

Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan
I feel I’m checking a list of all of the popular YA authors, so of course, I can’t forget Ms. Brennan. I’ve never read any of her books, so I’m hoping to remedy that with Unspoken.

Another v1 (novel) by Yukito Ayatsuji
I’m just setting myself to be creeped out all of October, aren’t I?

And these following books are already guaranteed to go on my tbr list as soon as I purchase them:

  • The Waking Dark by Robin Wasserman
  • Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black
  • Conjured by Sarah Beth Durst
  • Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
  • (and maybe) Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

I don’t even want to talk about the nonfiction and adult books. I’m overwhelmed enough as it is.

4 thoughts on “To-be Read Queue: Friday the 13th edition

  1. I’ve read the The Iron King series by Julie Kagawa – they’re really good! a bit teenage oriented, but I personally enjoyed it. It even had a few anime references~ plus, i’m in love with Robbie!

    Arisu

  2. I too heard Libba Bray at a conference. “Bubbly” is a perfect word for her. Also “hilarious” and perhaps even “quirky”. So I immediately bought all 3 of the Gemma Doyle books, and then barely made it through the first. I discovered I’m not a fan of paranormals (I may be too old for the genre), nor of Gemma Doyle, nor even of Libba Bray. Although I still have hopes for Stiefvater.

    • Thank you for the tip! I know I also fall for the ‘cult of personality’ when it comes to certain authors (John Green probably being the best example, thank goodness I didn’t hate The Fault in Our Stars).

      I would also have to extend a cautionary nudge for Stiefvater. I didn’t post my really negative thoughts about her here, so I may sound nicer to her than I actually am. She’s one of the authors who can tell decent stories, but her way of getting there is sometimes irritating to me.

      • I started the first book of Stiefvater’s trilogy but gave up after only a dozen pages or so. Yet I’m willing to give her another try — with the hope that the story will be worth the effort. (And I liked Fault in Our Stars quite a bit.)

Comments are closed.